Minis’ presentation day

Pocklington Under-8s’ final season of tag rugby concluded on Sunday 29 April with the Minis section presentation.

A season of attacking rugby, with defence sometimes less of a priority to the boys, saw them win 31 per cent of their matches, draw 17 per cent and lose 52 per cent.

Their attacking instinct resulted in 88 tries scored, while conceding 101 – they generally won comfortably and lost narrowly. The boys continued to develop well and will be a strong squad as they move up to contact rugby as under-9s next season.

Should you have a child who would like to join the fun in September, please contact Stuart Jessop on 01759 318006 or Wayne Grainger on 01759 304688.

At the presentation, all the boys received a commemorative medal for their hard work and contributions this season. The players’ player of the year trophy was awarded to Callum Childs, no doubt for the many tries he has scored again this season. The most improved player award went to John Burley, who has become a determined player as evidenced by his game face. Finally, Will Grewer (a new member of the squad this season) was the recipient of the player of the year award for his consistent commitment and performances in both training and matches.

Coaches Stuart Jessop and Wayne Grainger would like to thank the boys for their efforts which have made everyone very proud, the parents for their support, all those at the club whose behind the scenes work enables the team to play, and the team’s sponsor Danby’s Newsagents and Dairy.

The Under-9s’ coaches had difficult decisions to make as all players have worked incredibly hard throughout the season and really came together as a team in their first season of contact rugby.

After much deliberation, the coaches awarded most improved player to Maxwell Willmott, in recognition of his commitment and effort in the last few months. Player of the season was awarded to Ben Maycock for a consistently good performance since September. The hotly-contested players’ player, voted for by all the boys in a secret ballot, went to Harry Jones.

The 2011/2012 Under-9s squad was made up of Harry Jones, Louis Eccles, Alistair Deacon, Ben Maycock, Alex Hindle, Max Lee, Maxwell Willmott, Zac Melemendjian, Harry Scutt, Ollie Mercer, James Bramma, Harry Cosham, Joseph Ward, William Coates, Luke Andrews, Thomas Brown, Joshua Jenkins, Elliott Groves and Maxim Guest.

Many thanks to coaches Steve Jenkins, Matthew Jones, James Deacon and Darren Eccles for giving up their time over the season, to team admin Roz Bramma, and to parents for supporting the boys in all weathers.