Hundreds run in annual road race

editorial image

On a bright and crisp Sunday morning 662 runners completed the ever popular Snake Lane 10 mile road race staged by Pocklington Runners.

This year’s race, which was sponsored by Varlink Limited, Sweatshop, Power Health and Brooks, attracted a high quality field that included several past winners as well as runners from throughout the North East of England and beyond.

The winner, in a new course record of 48:03, was Ricky Stevenson of New Marske Harriers with Jonathan Taylor of Morpeth AC in second place, Richard Morrell also of New Marske Harriers was third, Stephen Hepples of Newham & Essex Beagles was forth, David Turnbull of Holmfirth came in fifth and Pocklington’s Tom Danby was sixth.

The ladies race was won by Louise Brown of Scarborough AC in 59:59 with Pocklington’s Helen Cross in second place, Sarah Cumber of Halifax Harriers was third, Emma Vickers of York Knavesmire was forth and Yamuna Thiru of Elswick Harriers fifth.

The men’s team race was won by Pocklington’s three top finishers Tom Danby, Dennis Speck and Steven Worth.

The ladies team race was won by Valley Striders with Pocklington Ladies coming 6th.

Pocklington Runners club members turned out on force for Snake Lane this year with no less than 54 runners participating in an event that was outstandingly managed by Race Director Patrick Piggott and superbly marshalled by his team of volunteers.

Pocklington Runners results in full are; Tom Danby 53:56, Dennis Speck 56:29(PB), Steven Worth 59:54 (PB), Helen Cross 61:19, Richard Ginn 61:27(PB), Warwick Anderson 62:00(PB), Simon Rycroft 64:48, Mike Siddall 65:01, Stuart Smith 65:18, Jim Holding 65:26, Simon Richardson, 65:35, Patrick Piggott 67:10, Mike Pullon 67:38 (PB), Alan Kendra 69:41, Keith Oliver 69:47, Richard Ramshaw 69:54, Howard Cross 71:21, Paul Holmes 71:23, Clive Reid 71:33, Stuart Evans 72:21, Marcus Bourne 73:13 (PB), Sara Stead 74:57, Adele Shipley 76:17, Sue Brown 78:14, Paul Sheridan 78:23 (PB), Jill Dowson 78:57, Brian Perkins 79:00, Linda Harvey 81:59, Colin Shipley 82:44, Andrew Gill 82:44 (PB), Lindsay Cameron 84:14 (PB), Mike Smith 84:58, Paul Miller 85:18, Rod Robinson 85:47, Debbie Rycroft 85:49 (PB), Adrian Holden 86:49, Rachael Houseman 87:18, Helen Pickersgill 87:18 (PB), Jodie Tate 87:18, Mick East 88:21, Sharon Watt 88:34, Steve Eastoe 89:44, Brian Dobson 91:10, Rachel Harrington 92:14, Helen Crowle 94:10, Simon Weedy 94:39, Gordon Mellor 96:32, Liz Johnson 98:40, Tracy Baty 111:06, Trish Curran also 111:06, Di Thompson 112:58 and Bev Varley 115:22.

Emma Baker ran in 106:15 and shared this time with her father David Barker, who was running his 20th Snake Lane and was presented with a commemorative plate to mark the event,

Pocklington Runners extend thanks to all those who volunteered to marshall or to work at the water stations at the finish area or in the car parks, to race sponsors Varlink Limited, Sweatshop, Power Health and Brooks, to Pocklington Rugby Club for use of their excellent extended facilities, to Joan Kendra and Ruth Brunt for taking care of the refreshments, to the 1st Pocklington Explorers for their help, to Woldgate College and the Youth Centre for allowing car parking on their sites and to the people of Pocklington, Meltonby and Bishop Wilton who turned out to support the runners.

Away from Pocklington, Gary Tebbutt took part in the Great North West half marathon, which attracted a field of 1140, where he finished in 1:40:01 in 262nd place.

For details of how to join Pocklington Runners visit