Drake’s trophy contested

editorial image

Allerthorpe Park golf club’s members competed for the Drake’s Trophy on Saturday 24 September.

The annual competition, which is an 18-hole fourball betterball strokeplay competition, was well supported by the gentlemen and ladies sections of the golf club, with the prizes and a half-way house generously sponsored by Drake’s Garage of Shiptonthorpe.

The results were as follows:


1st place: Stuart Craven & Neil Leybourn - 65

2nd place: Gordon Kelly & S Thompson - 66 (countback)

3rd place: Neil Smith & J Eborall - 66

Nearest the pin (18th hole): Neil Leybourn - 3’8½”


1st place: Carol Simpson & Pat Stageman - 73 (countback)

2nd place: Sheena Barton & Denise Wilson - 73

Nearest the pin (18th hole): Carol Simpson - 7’5”