Entries open for grassroots awards

AFC Tickton were winners in the East Riding last year.
AFC Tickton were winners in the East Riding last year.

Nominations for the 2015 FA Community Awards are now open and East Riding clubs have been encouraged to get involved.

Paul Adamson, volunteer and coach for 2014 county award winners AFC Tickton, is encouraging communities across the region to get behind their local grassroots clubs and volunteers

Over the course of the awards’ six year history hundreds of leagues, clubs and volunteers have been recognised at a county, regional and national level and AFC Tickton is no different after winning the FA Charter Standard Community Club of the Year in 2014.

The work that AFC Tickton has been conducting over the past two years has been remarkable, earning glowing reviews from The East Riding FA. AFC Tickton has a total of 20 teams on their books providing football for girls and boys, as well as a disability team, and proudly hold the title of Beverley’s first ever Charter Standard Football Club.

With the aim of improving their football offering to the local community, they partnered with Football Mash Up to deliver disability specific sessions that are open to all abilities. They are keen to raise the number of girls playing in the area and are now running turn up and play sessions every Saturday morning.

Adamson said: “There are countless clubs and volunteers in East Riding that deserve recognition for their hard work and dedication to grassroots football. It was an incredible feeling of pride accepting the award for AFC Tickton last year. If you know a club or volunteer who you think deserves recognition please, make sure to nominate them for the 2015 awards.”

England international Martin Keown said: “Grassroots clubs like the AFC Tickton and the volunteers that are part of them are the lifeblood of the game.

“Volunteers dedicate countless hours of free time to providing young footballers with an opportunity to enjoy the game on a weekly basis and without them, the sport we know and love simply wouldn’t exist.

“It is so important that we take the time to recognise and celebrate the hard work that they put in to the grassroots game and the awards provide us with the perfect platform to do this.”

Nominations for The FA Community Awards are now open and you can nominate your local grassroots heroes by visiting www.mcdonalds.co.uk/awards.

The seven award categories are:

Outstanding Contribution to Community Football Award

Volunteer of the Year

Young Volunteer of the Year

FA Charter Standard Community Club

FA Charter Standard Development Club

FA Charter Standard Club of the Year

FA Charter Standard League of the Year