Last December, the Black Swan pub changed its name to the ‘White Goose’ after more than 150 years of use.
Progress and modernisation is necessary in order to create a vibrant and evolving Pocklington that can move forward with the times, and keep the town prosperous in difficult economic times.
The first recorded use of the name ‘The Black Swan’, occurs in Baines directory of 1823, when Daniel Harland was the landlord. Following the history of the property via the owners and proprietors through their licences to sell ale, its heritage as a drinking hostelry can be traced back as far as 1733, and was even probably much older than that.
Read Andrew’s full feature in next week’s (12 February) people’s paper.