Three former mayors set to rejoin town council

Pocklington Town Council's offices on George Street.
Pocklington Town Council's offices on George Street.

There will be no Pocklington Town Council election next month, with three former mayors set to rejoin the council.

Martin Cooper, Tony Marron and Jeff Shepherd will take up office on 12 May. The trio left the council in 2013.

No town council election will take place in Pocklington as there are 13 candidates and 13 councillor vacancies. Therefore, all the candidates have been elected without a contest. Sue Taylor and Karen Riley are the only current councillors who are not rejoining.

Mr Cooper said: “Once I got my tiling business up and running the plan was always to rejoin in 2015 at the next elections.

“I have never really left in a way, I’ve been involved with the Gateway regeneration project, Pocklington Football Club and working on the Flying Man Festival. I’ve never really left my commitments to the community.”

Mr Shepherd said he is rejoining “to get involved in the community”.

A Market Weighton Town Council election will be held, as there are 14 candidates and just 13 vacancies. The Parliamentary, local and town and parish council elections will all take place in the East Riding on 7 May.

List of Pocklington town councillors to serve a four-year term from the end of May:

Martin Cooper

Ann Cox

Gerald Hutchinson

Terry Jones

Tony Marron

Graham Perry

Martin Ratcliffe

Dee Sharpe

Jeff Shepherd

Alan Spademan

David Sykes

Paul West

Peter Winterton

List of Market Weighton candidates:

Nigel Botting

Derek Cary

Lionel Cashin

Nigel Chicken

Jean Curwen

Marian Frith

Peter Hemmerman

Ted Johnson

Stephen King

Diane Peaks

David Rudd

Jayne Smith

Paul Stellings

Frank Townshend