New faces for council

Pock Town Council - new members
Pock Town Council - new members

NEW faces were introduced at Pocklington Town Council at their recent monthly meeting, after almost half of the old council stepped down.

The six new councillors were sworn in after Rowan Blake-James, Alex Petrie, Maureen Wilkinson, Gordon Scaife, Michael Held and Neil Dexter all chose not to represent the town for another four years.

The council had to co-opt new members after insufficient locals expressed an interest for a town council election to be held earlier in the month.

Pocklington was one of 34 town or parish councils in our region who failed to attract enough prospective councillors and have been forced to seek members through co-option.

The new members at Pocklington will now be expected to undergo basic councillor training and attend meetings to represent the town.