Your article: Final Lyndhurst prize-giving

Lyndhurst pupils with their trophies
Lyndhurst pupils with their trophies

Lyndhurst School, the preparatory department of Pocklington School, held its final prize-giving in Pocklington School Sports Hall.

From September, the school which educates boys and girls from the age of 4 -11, is to have a new name. It will be called Pocklington Prep School.

The welcome address was given by the Head of Pocklington Prep School, Mr Ian Wright.

The prizes were presented by Mr Mark Ronan, Headmaster, and Mr Gareth Hughes who has recently been appointed Head of Lower School at Pocklington School to replace Margaret Newhouse who retires this summer.

Mr Hughes is responsible for overseeing the academic progress and pastoral welfare of all new Year 7 joiners and all pupils in Year 8.

There were many awards for sport. Ben Parsonage is football Player of the Year, cross country award winners were Harry Scutt and Tabitha Medforth, Brin Waldron won the Houtham Trophy for Rugby and Kobie Fofie was Player of the Year.

The cricket Player of the Year was Thomas Kirby, Ben Parsonage was awarded Player’s Player, Emily Scutt and Lily Walster were joint Swimmers of the Year, with Elliot Groves winning Swimmers’ Swimmer.

Girls sport was equally well represented by Imogen Croston who was Player of the Year for Netball. In Hockey, Lily Walster was Player of the Year and Grace Beckett lifted the trophy for Team Player of the Year.

Emma Sweeting won the Player of the Year award for rounders. Overall Athletes of the Year awards went to Ben Parsonage and Tabitha Medforth. The prizes for Sports Girl and Boy respectively were won by Isabelle Prescott and Harry Scutt. Tennis awards also went to Henry Kay and Emma Sweeting for performance at U11 and Charlie Wake collected the prize for the U9 mixed category.

Form prizes were awarded for academic excellence in all age groups from Year 1 to Year 6. There were prizes for the youngest pupils for handwriting, and trophies for music, general knowledge, drama and chess as well as a long list of Endeavour Prizes for good conduct and other amazing contributions to school life. A new trophy for this year, The Pete Edwards House Art Cup, went to Jennifer Harrison.

However, as Year 6 leave us to become Year 7 in senior school in September it seemed fitting to give them a special mention as they embark on a new phase of their educational adventure. Zaira Gurung is awarded a Year 7 scholarship and a Year 7 exhibition is awarded to Henry Kay.

Well done to Imogen Croston, Henry Kay, Emma Scutt, Lucas Duncan, Elliot Groves and Anna Robinson who all won form prizes. Year 6 Subject Prizes were awarded to Zaira Gurung (maths), Henry Kay (English), Charlotte Dick (science), Elliot Groves (history), Harry Scutt (geography), Imogen Croston (modern foreign language), Ben Wilkinson (religious studies), Elliot Groves (PE), Charlotte Dick (art), Emma Scutt (music), Lucas Duncan (ICT), Danny Ratcliffe (Design Technology) and The Sawyer Trophy for Year 6 was awarded to Lily Walster.

Other trophies included the Walker Trophy for Year 5 to Emily Waldron, the Mulholland Cup for Year 4 to Samuel Perry, the Friends Cup for Year 3 to Martha Lee, the York Cup for Year 2 to Francesca Seedat, the Norma Jennings Trophy for Year 1 to Ben Wilcock and the Jill Atkinson Trophy for Reception to Emily O’Gram. The Jacky Carver Trophy for all round good contributions throughout the pupils Lyndhurst career was awarded this year to Thomas Kirby.