East Riding Parish Council election results announced

editorial image

Saturday saw the election results for the parish councils in the East Riding area, although the majority of councils were uncontested as the number of candidates running matched the positions open.

In Beverley St Mary’s East Ward, Tom Astell (Labour); Robert Begnett (Beverley Party); David Elvidge (Conservative) and Duncan Jack (Independent) were elected.

In the race for election in St Mary’s West, Elaine Aird (Conservative); Nick Machen (Beverley Party) and Bryan Pearson (Conservative) managed to accrue enough votes to join the parish council.

Meanwhile, in the Beverley Minster North Ward, Peter Astell (Labour); Ben Cooper (Labour) and Philip Dodsworth (Independent) were first past the post and in the Beverley Minster South Ward, Geoff Cooper (Conservative); Paul McGrath (Labour); Dominic Peacock (Conservative) and Ann Willis (Labour) were elected by their community.

In the Walkington Ward poll, Pat Brockman, Tony Collinson, Clive Leslie Dixon, Dave Drew, James Henry Drew, Michael John Gray, Ken Hearne, Tom Hodgson, George Thomas Southern, Vivien Swann and Robin Taylor (all recorded as having no party affiliation on the East Riding Council website) were duly elected.

Moving to the other side of the East Riding, in Bridlington, there were three wards up for grabs.

In the Bridlington North Ward poll, John Copsey (Conservative); Terry Dixon (Independent); Ronnie Morrison (Labour) and Glenn Holmes (Independent) were duly elected. In the South Ward battle, Malcolm Milns (Ukip); Shelagh Finlay (Labour); Colin Croft(Labour) and Jim Carder (Labour) were first past the post.

In the Old Town Ward, Liam Dealtry (Labour); Mike Heslop-Mullens (Liberal Democrats); Jackie Foster (Social Democratic Party); Joy Fleetham (Social Democratic Party); Colin Collinson (Social Democratic Party) and Thelma Milns (Ukip) were duly elected.

David Peter Kitchin; Paul David Jackson; Dave Burton; John Stuart Daniels; Kenneth Taylor; Sue Thomas and John Langham (who were recorded as having no party affiliation on the East Riding Council website) were elected as councillors for the Carnaby Parish.

In Driffield South Ward, Georgina Lucas (Independent) and Rebecca Fraser (No party affiliation) will represent the residents, while the South West Ward poll saw Amanda Rose Croft (Independent); Mark Blakeston (Independent); Joyce Fletcher (Labour); Paul Rounding (Labour) and Kevin Stack (Independent) elected.

In Driffield West Ward, Kate Wright (Independent); Heather Venter (Independent); Tony Cooper; Cath Scarlett and Spencer Fletcher (all recorded as having no party affiliation) were the first past the post.

At Market Weighton, Peter Hemmerman, Nigel Chicken, David Rudd, Jayne Smith, Marian Frith, Diane Peaks, Lionel Cashin, Stephen King, Derek Cary, Paul Stellings, Jean Curwen and Nigel Botting will represent their residents.

In Cottingworth, Peter Rhodes, Dave Griffith, Neil Hobbs, Steve Ashton, Julie Harrison, Duncan Morter and Clare Cornmell were selected by their community.

Listed below are the uncontested Parish Councils in our papers’ areas: Allerthorpe; Atwick; Bainton; Barmby Moor; Barmston; Beeford; Bempton; Beswick; Bewholme; Bishop Burton; Bishop Wilton; Boynton; Brandesburton; Bubwith; Bugthorpe; Burton Agnes; Burton Fleming; Catwick; Cherry Burton; Driffield North Ward; Fangfoss; Fimber; Flamborough; Foggathorpe; Foston; Fridaythorpe; Full Sutton; Garton; Goodmanham; Grindale; Harpham; Holme upon Spalding Moor; Huggate; Hutton Cranswick; Kelk; Kilham; Kirkburn; Langtoft; Leconfield; Leven; Lockington; Londesborough; Lund; Melbourne; Middleton; Millington; Molescroft; Nafferton; Newbald; Newton-upon-Derwent; North Cave; North Dalton; North Frodingham; Pocklington; Riston; Rudston; Sancton; Seaton Ross; Shiptonthorpe; Skerne and Wansford; Skidby; Skipsea; Skirlaugh; Skirpenbeck; Sledmere; South Cave; Stamford Bridge; Sutton-upon-Derwent; Thwing; Tibthorpe; Tickton; Ulrome; Warter; Watton; Wetwang; Wilberfoss; Wold Newton; Woodmansey - Dunswell Ward; Woodmansey - Minster View Ward; Woodmansey - Victoria Ward; Yapham.