A record for the 124th AGM

NDTP -Valuers AGM at the Bell - Sarah Graham (Outgoing) Tom Watson (New president)
NDTP -Valuers AGM at the Bell - Sarah Graham (Outgoing) Tom Watson (New president)

The 124th AGM of the East Riding Valuers was held on 10 January at the Bell Hotel, Driffield.

Mrs Sarah Graham was in the chair as President.

There was a record attendance of 53 Members at the meeting and the Association was pleased to welcome as its guests Michael Mashiter, Senior Vice President of the CAAV, Kate Russell of Central Office, Robin Jessop, Chairman of Northern Group, Dermot Spurrier, President of Lincolnshire Association, Tom Whitehead, President of Yorkshire Association, Sam Johnson, President of North Yorkshire and South Durham Association, Edward Stephenson, Secretary of Northern Group, Philip Coles, Secretary of North Yorkshire and South Durham Association and Brian Bartle, Secretary of Yorkshire Association.

Mr Tom Watson of Cundalls, Malton was elected President for the forthcoming year.

Education and agronomy reports were received from Mr Martin Swann, Mr Mark Caley and Mr Edward Stephenson.

Mr Graham Wright from the Valuation Office presented a paper on Inheritance Tax and the treatment of agricultural land and property from the Valuation Officer’s perception.

This is a key area of work for many of the Members present and Mr Wright’s presentation raised a number of interesting points. Ms Kate Russell from Central Office provided an update on compulsory purchase orders, progress with the proposed HS2 rail link and proposals to regulate the private residential rented sector.

The meeting concluded with its annual lunch in the Bell Hotel’s dining room.