Things Spice up as Finalists are announced - The English Curry Awards announce their shortlisted curry contenders

curry pic
curry pic

After months of fierce competition, nominations have now closed for the English Curry Awards. Restaurants and takeaways from all over England battled it out to make the best curry in the country.

The second English Curry Awards will take place in The Point at the Lancashire County Cricket Club on the 3rd September, and it is set to be a fantastic evening. A city renowned for its devotion to the dish; it even has an entire ‘curry mile’ committed to the cuisine, it makes Manchester the ideal location for the English Curry Awards.

Yasmin Mahmood, Operations & Business Development Manager for event organiser Oceanic Consulting said: “Food is something people get really passionate about, whether it’s the public who love dining out, or the chef who makes the meal with pride. This passion is the reason we decided to put the awards on in the first place, as well as to provide a platform for restaurants and takeaways to aspire to be a part of. This year thousands of nominations flooded in, in support of the publics favourite. With such a range of finalists, I am sure it will be fantastic evening, and good luck to all the finalists!”

The main sponsor is and Save the Children is this year’s charity partner.

Other sponsors of the event include: Pepsi, Asda, O2 International, Goldstar Chefs, Saffron Events UK, Grafx Media, Suncrest and Revelation Rally.

There are eleven awards to be won on the night, two of which have nine regional winners.

The categories and finalists are as follows:

Curry Lover of the Year

City of Bradford

Rate that Curry

Graham Fleming (Bradford College)

Best Supermarket Curry Award




Best Restaurant Design

Vermilion & Cinnabar (Manchester)

East Z East (Liverpool)

Akbar’s (Birmingham)

Curry Lounge (Nottingham)

Spice Market (London)

Team of the Year

Cafe Lahore (Oldham)

Indigo (Romiley)

Curry Lounge (Nottingham)

Mumtaz (Bradford)

Lal Qila (Manchester)

Chef of the Year

Gurpreet Bains (Indian Superfood)

Reza Mohammed (Star of India)

Prahlad Hegde (Bombay Brasserie)

Alfred Prasad (Tamarind)

Rob Abdul (Cafe Taj)

Caterer of the Year

British Asian Catering

Chak 89

Indus Catering



Curry King or Queen of the Year

Amjad Khan (Kebabish)

Shabir Hussain (Akbar’s)

Namita/Camellia Panjabi (MW Eat Group)

Best of Manchester


Zouk Tea Bar & Grill

Vermilion & Cinnabar

East Z East

Zaika Restaurant

Imli by Lal Qila



Shere Khan

Mughli Restaurant + Charcoal Pit

Takeaway of the Year

North East

King Faisal – Newcastle Upon Tyne

Mighty Bites – Middlesborough

Rowshuni – Sunderland

North West

Spice King – Preston

Sajaan’s – Manchester

Jaldi Jaldi – Preston


Cafe Masala – Sheffield

Jaldi Jaldi – Leeds University

Naeem’s – Leeds

East Midlands

Spice Indian Takeaway – Nottingham

Adil’s Indian Takeaway – Leicester

Spicy Flames – Leicester

West Midlands

Mahim Indian Takeaway – Shrewsbury

Mr Malik’s – Newcastle-Under-Lyme

Masala Queen – Dudley


Golden Spice – Cambridge

Master Chefs Indian Takeaway – Luton

Preem Indian Takeaway – Essex

South East

Alamin Tandoori Takeaway – Reading

Mahbir’s Tandoori – Milton Keynes

Dilwar Tandoori – Reading

South West

Papa Raj – Plymouth

Raka Poshi – Swindon

Naz Indian Takeaway – Bournemouth


Bricklane Kitchen – London

Farhana Indian Takeaway – Barking

Shahi Tandoori – London

Restaurant of the Year

North East

The Rupali Restaurant – Newcastle

Sachin’s – Sunderland

Delhi Lounge – Middlesborough

North West

Indian Ocean – Tameside

Double Tree – Preston

Red Fort – Liverpool


Prashad – Bradford

Kiplings – Halifax

Akbar’s – Bradford